Evenfall: Volume 1: Director’s Cut (In the Company of Shadows, #1 part #1)Santino Hassell and Ais

*Contains SPOILERS*
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

20926065

What a delight to go back into the world of ‘In the Company of Shadows’.

I come to this book as someone who has read and adored the original version of “Evenfall”. On my first reading of the original version it blew my mind, however, I couldn’t help but be sidetracked by the odd error, the occasionally langurous pace and Boyd’s perchant for long internal monologues about his feelings, the world and everything! But, saying that, I’ve rarely read a book I found so enthralling and completely addictive. I can only imagine what a mountainous task it was to cut 100K from the original book, I doff my imaginary cap to Sonny and Ais! Well played.

The thing with this series is, in my opinion the bigger the better! And as two volumes its still a big, joyful read.

I can’t get enough of this world and these characters. Within a few pages was spellbound once more.

Maybe i’m just eagle eyed, but for me the cuts were noticable from the off. The most noticable difference is Boyd. Yes, he did go on a bit sometimes, but in my opinion loosing so much of his early angst doesn’t give the reader as much insight into the character progression. We are told he has hidden himself a way for two years and he believes his life is meaningless. Personally, I have a thing for broken pretty boys so I would have liked a little more of an insight into the stark reality of Boyd’s life before he was summoned to the Agency. There is no mention of Boyd’s home or Lou until half way in to volume 1.  Boyd’s past tragedy is revealed by Sin’s private investigation, rather that the reader being told about it multiple times in Boyd’s monologues. It worked very well.

I loved that several key events were rewritten and improved. Paris was HOT and there was a better distinction between Boyd’s lack of feelings for Thierry and his growing volcanic compulsive feelings for Sin. After Paris the story continued at a faster pace and was tighter, good job!  Again, I could not put this book down.  I’m on the road to more delightful sleepless nights, as now I’ve started I won’t stop until the series is read again.

Huge thanks Sonny and Ais- ICoS is a gift that keeps on giving!

Leave a Reply

